A police car stopping a vehicle at night.

Can you get a DWI in a Self-Driving Car?

New technologies often present the legal systems with challenges and uncertainties and the rise of self-driving vehicles is no different. In the context of DWI cases, one of the most interesting issues will be when the driver of a fully autonomous vehicle is operating a vehicle for purposes of proving that a person committed the…

Continue reading…
DWI

What happens if I get kicked out of DWI PTI?

For many first-time offenders charged with DWI, a pre-trial diversion could be a good option to keep a DWI off your record. Unfortunately, the requirements of the program can be strict and usually include obtaining an interlock device, performing community service, completing DWI-related classes and more. Most counties, including Harris County, have zero tolerance policies…

Continue reading…
Man charged with domestic violence case

Can You Be Fired for Your DWI in Texas?

Being convicted of a DWI is never a good thing. It can negatively impact so many aspects of your life. Under Section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code, an individual who has been convicted of a DWI can face numerous consequences such as up to 180 days in jail, up to a $2,000 fine, and…

Continue reading…